Note on the Word „Nigger“

Speaking as a rankly amateur dabbler in philology, if I understand correctly, nigger is actually a colloquial corruption of Latin-derived niger, and has become a word in its own right.

Too many nationalists forget one very important place the word is used:  Mein Kampf uses nigger at least twice.  English nigger is used exactly twice (I ch. 7, II ch. 2) in the Murphy translation, where it directly stands in for the equivalent Neger in the original German.  A quick grep shows other use of Neger and compounds thereof (e.g. Negerblut) in the German original.

I have also seen other pre-War scholarly and diplomatic works which used the word nigger.  (Yes, I just implied that Mein Kampf is both diplomatic and scholarly; it is, after all, a work of political philosophy and praxis.)  Unfortunately, I was not taking notes when I saw these instances; it would (and perhaps one day will) make for an interesting demonstration.  Also, post-War, that real philologist and Professor of Classics whom I keep yammering about, Dr. Revilo P. Oliver, put nigger in print later in his career; seemingly this trend started in the 1980s, as he grew increasingly defiant.

I note these usages only to underscore the point:  It is not a gutter word, as some ignorant people pretend it to be.  It is not vulgarity.  I do not use vulgarity, and neither did the Führer!

All of which is a long way of saying, I have good reason for holding use of the word nigger to be almost a redline.  I thus have at best mixed feelings about politically correct venues which would censor the Führer.  I will stand with him, and you can choose your side, even as to such a small symbolic issue.

For different but related reasons, I advocate the word Aryan.  But that is another topic for another day!  For now simply see Note 10 of Dr. Oliver’s Enemy of Our Enemies, Part I.  In addition to agreeing totally therewith, I have concurring independent arguments to the same end.

[Cross-posted with substantive edits from a moderately off-topic comment.]

Leave a Reply

